Springfield Pleasure Driveway and Park District

The Springfield Pleasure Driveway and Park District Board was established in 1900 after a vote of the citizenry to develop, organize and administer a park system for the City of Springfield. Among the early parks developed Washington Park was the first newly created park under the new Board, Iles Park was given to the District by Elijah Iles in 1903 and Susan Enos donated the land for Enos Park in 1905, while Lincoln Park was added to the system the same year. The materials in this collection relate primarily to the first decade of the Park District's existence, and consist of the hand-written petition for organization of the District, election results for its officers, minutes of the Board, financial statements of the District and miscellaneous committee reports from committees of the Board as well as other assorted documents from that early period.